5G Living Lab in the Mobility Region Braunschweig-Wolfsburg

A research project as an open 5G Living Lab

Funded by the German Federal Ministry of Transport and Digital Infrastructure (BMDV), the 5G Living Lab pursues the research and lively presentation of practical needs and possible applications of 5G as a key technology in the context of a smart region/smart city. The project is funded under the BMVI's 5G Innovation Program with the aim of establishing Germany as a lead market for 5G applications.

To this end, an open, cross-sectoral Living Laboratory and showcase for stakeholders from business, science, administration and politics as well as for citizens and society will be established and linked with regional platforms and test fields. This is intended to ensure that results are transferred to economic and regional value chains and that solutions are scaled up. In addition, sustainable impulses on topics in the field of digitalization and automation are to be set and taken up via an advisory project board and the 5G-Forum.

The 5G Living Lab uses the local strengths of the mobility region and is divided into two modules: In the Braunschweig module, the focus is on research and transformation; in the Wolfsburg module, on application and operation. Testing is taking place in a total of 12 sub-projects within the application fields of mobility (road, rail, air), eHealth and Smart Construction, as well as technology-oriented cross-sectional activities.

The research results are to be integrated into the existing Living Labs and test field activities such as the Application Platform for Intelligent Mobility (AIM), the Test Bed Lower Saxony or #WolfsburgDigital and thus made permanently available. The applications will be designed to be scalable and developed and demonstrated in parallel with the 5G network rollout, so that the migration and implementation of results in practice will be straigthforward. By synchronizing research projects and expanding the digital infrastructure, the 5G Living Lab will also contribute to sustainable regional development and value creation.

Public 5G infrastructure in the Braunschweig-Wolfsburg project area

The implementation, deployment, demonstration and evaluation of the practice-oriented, partly experimental use cases, will take place in public 5G mobile networks that are being rolled out in the project region as part of regular network planning. In the implementation planning of the use cases, a close synchronization with mobile network operators will take place, so that current releases and further 5G technology modules such as "multi-access edge computing" can be taken into account. The two implementation partners, the city of Braunschweig and the city of Wolfsburg, play a key role by providing infrastructure and data to the project. Other stakeholders are involved via the 5G Forum collaboration platform.

All in all, a 5G Living Lab is being created in which public 5G infrastructure will be integrated into research infrastructures and municipal infrastructures and made available to a broad circle of experts from science, industry and administration.

Project facts

The funding volume is about EUR 12 million for the five consortium partners. The grant certificate was handed over to the consortium by the Federal Minister of Transport, Andreas Scheuer, on 05.12.2019. The project will run for three years until Dec. 31, 2022. The consortium includes the German Aerospace Center (DLR), the Fraunhofer Institute for Integrated Circuits (FHIIS), the Institute for Automation and Communication (ifak), the Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt (PTB) and the Technische Universität Braunschweig (TUBS).

©BMVIHanding over of the funding grant for the 5G Living Lab in the mobility region of Braunschweig-Wolfsburg

5G-Reallabor in der Mobilitätsregion Braunschweig-Wolfsburg

Ein Forschungsvorhaben als offenes 5G-Reallabor

Gefördert vom Bundesministerium für Verkehr und digitale Infrastruktur (BMVI) verfolgt das 5G-Reallabor die Erforschung und lebendige Darstellung praxisnahen Bedarfs und Einsatzmöglichkeiten von 5G als Schlüsseltechnologie im Kontext einer Smart Region/Smart City. Die Förderung des Projekts erfolgt im Rahmen des 5G-Innovationsprogramms des BMVI mit dem Ziel, Deutschland als Leitmarkt für 5G-Anwendungen zu etablieren.

Dazu wird ein offenes, sektorenübergreifendes Reallabor und Schaufenster für Akteure aus Wirtschaft, Wissenschaft, Verwaltung und Politik sowie für Bürger bzw. die Gesellschaft aufgebaut und mit regionalen Plattformen und Testfeldern verknüpft. Damit soll eine Überführung von Ergebnissen in wirtschaftliche und regionale Wertschöpfungsketten sowie eine Skalierung von Lösungen gewährleistet werden. Darüber hinaus sollen über einen beratenden Projektbeirat und das 5G-Forum nachhaltige Impulse zu Themen im Bereich der Digitalisierung und Automatisierung gesetzt und aufgenommen werden.

Das 5G-Reallabor nutzt die lokalen Stärken der Mobilitätsregion und gliedert sich in zwei Module: Im Modul Braunschweig liegt der Fokus auf der Forschung und Transformation, im Modul Wolfsburg auf der Anwendung und dem Betrieb. In insgesamt 12 Teilprojekten finden innerhalb der Anwendungsfelder Mobilität (Straße, Schiene, Luft), eHealth und Smart Construction sowie technologieorientierte Querschnittsaktivitäten die Erprobungen statt.

Die Forschungsergebnisse sollen in die bestehenden Living Labs und Testfeldaktivitäten wie „Anwendungsplattform intelligente Mobilität“ (AIM), das Testfeld Niedersachsen oder #WolfsburgDigital integriert und damit dauerhaft verfügbar gemacht werden. Die Anwendungen werden skalierbar gestaltet sowie parallel zum 5G-Netzausbau entwickelt und demonstriert, sodass die Migration und Implementierung von Ergebnissen in der Praxis niederschwelliger möglich sein wird. Mit der Synchronisierung von Forschungsprojekten und dem Ausbau der digitalen Infrastruktur soll das 5G-Reallabor darüber hinaus einen Beitrag zu einer nachhaltigen Regionalentwicklung und Wertschöpfung leisten.

Öffentliche 5G-Infrastruktur im Projektgebiet Braunschweig-Wolfsburg

Die Umsetzung, Implementierung, Demonstration und Evaluation der praxisorientierten, teils experimentellen Anwendungsfälle, erfolgt in öffentlichen 5G-Mobilfunknetzen, die im Rahmen der regulären Netzplanung in der Projektregion ausgebaut werden. In der Umsetzungsplanung der Anwendungsfälle wird eine enge Synchronisierung mit Mobilfunknetzbetreibern stattfinden, sodass aktuelle Releases und weitere 5G-Technologiebausteine wie beispielsweise „Multi-Access Edge Computing“ berücksichtigt werden können.

Eine wesentliche Rolle spielen die beiden Umsetzungspartner Stadt Braunschweig und Stadt Wolfsburg, die dem Vorhaben Infrastrukturen und Daten bereitstellen. Die Einbindung weiterer Stakeholder findet über die Kollaborationsplattform 5G-Forum statt.

In der Summe entsteht so ein 5G-Reallabor, in dem öffentliche 5G-Infrastruktur in Forschungsinfrastrukturen und kommunalen Infrastrukturen integriert und einem breiten Expertenkreis aus Wissenschaft, Wirtschaft und Verwaltung zur Verfügung stehen wird.

Zahlen, Daten, Fakten

Das Fördervolumen beträgt knapp 12 Mio. EUR. Die Zuwendungsurkunde wurde am 05.12.2019 vom Bundesverkehrsminister Andreas Scheuer an das Konsortium übergeben. Das Projekt hat eine Laufzeit von drei Jahren bis zum 31.12.2022. Zum Konsortium zählen das Deutsche Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR), das Fraunhofer Institut für integrierte Schaltungen (FHIIS), das Institut für Automation und Kommunikation (ifak), die Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt (PTB) sowie die Technische Universität Braunschweig (TUBS).
 

©BMVIÜber­ga­be des För­der­be­scheids für das 5G-Re­alla­bor in der Re­gi­on Braun­schweig-Wolfs­burg